Serving the state of ohio

Hit And Run Lawyer In Youngstown

  • Super Lawyers Rising Stars
  • Avvo 10.0 Rating
  • Avvo Clients' Choice Award
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • Lead Counsel Rated
  • The National Trial Lawyers Top 40 Under 40
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • PACDL

    Hit and Run Lawyer in Youngstown

    If you have been responsible for an accident on the road while driving Youngstown and haven’t stopped after it or provided the details of yours, then you will be charged with hit and run. This type of charge is considered to be a serious offense in Ohio and that is why when you are charged with something like this, you need the right legal representation by a Youngstown traffic lawyer.

    At Youngstown Criminal Law Group, our Ohio traffic lawyer has the necessary knowledge and experienced to defend you in hit and run cases. So, if you are charged with this, get in touch with us right away.

    Difference of Hit and Skip and Hit and Run

    In every state of the US, the regulation is that when you are responsible an accident, you have to stop and provide your details to the victim or the on-duty police officer. If you cause an accident and don’t stop, then it is called Hit and Run. In Ohio, there are some other terms that are used to describe the same offense, including hit and skip or tap and run.

    Failing to Stop After an Accident

    According to Ohio Revised Code or ORC 4549.02, in the case of a motor vehicle accident on the road, you have to stop at the scene. But stopping is not enough. You have to stay at the scene and provide your name, address and the registration details of the vehicle or the name and address of the owner of the car to the other party who can be the victim of the accident, the owner of another car or the police.

    It might happen that after the accident, the other person is too injured to collect your details. In this case, ORC 4549.02(A)(2) will require you to notify law enforcement and give your details to them. Also, you will have to be present at the scene until the police arrive or you are taken to the hospital in an ambulance.

    If you happen to be in an accident where the affected vehicle or the property is unoccupied, then you will have to write down your details and leave them in a conspicuous space in the vehicle or the property.

    Not abiding by this law and leaving the scene too soon without providing your details will get you charged for hit and run. In a situation like this, you will need to connect with the Youngstown traffic lawyer. Unfortunately, often people are charged wrongfully. For example, you might hit the fence or the letter box of a house and you get down from the car and find things are not damaged at all. In situations like this where you are wrongfully charged, an experienced Ohio traffic lawyer can save you.

    Penalties for Hit and Run

    In ORC 4549.02(B) the penalties of Hit and Run are outlined in detail. If you violate the law and don’t stop at the scene, then you will be charged with first degree misdemeanor that will get you six months jail time and a fine of $1000. If someone gets injured seriously because of the accident, and you flee the scene, it will be a fifth or fourth degree felony. In fifth degree felony, you will get 6 to 12 months jail time and a fine of up to $2500. Based on the seriousness of the accident, if you get fourth degree felony, you will get 6-18 months jail time and a fine of up to $5000. If the accident caused death, then you will get third or second degree felony. For third degree felony the jail time will be of 9 months to 5 years. And the fine will be of $10,000. For a second degree felony, you will get 2-8 years jail and a fine of up to $15,000. If you knew about the fatality and yet you fled the scene, you will be charged with a higher felony.

    In ORC 4549.03, it is stated that if you get involved in an accident where the realty or personal property adjacent to the road is involved and damaged, you need to stop and leave your details there and notify the owner of the property. Failure to do so in 24 hours will result in charges of hit and run. If convicted, it will be a first degree misdemeanor.

    Connect with Youngstown Traffic Lawyer

    Dealing with these criminal charges can be quite difficult and confusing. Get in touch with us in Youngstown Criminal Law Group. Our Youngstown traffic lawyer will take care of the charges and will ensure that you get the best outcome. 

    For more details, give us a call at (330) 625-9199 today.

    • “He always answers his phone, day or night and he understands the law better than anyone. He always answers my calls for both corporate and personal legal decisions and I have a ton of questions.” - Former Client
    • “He is a no-nonsense, very knowledgeable and well respected lawyer. I was pleased with his services.” - Former Client
    • “Mr. Logue was the one I hired after talking to other attorneys about my case. He was the most knowledgeable and explained everything to me about his plan for me moving forward.” - Former Client
    • “Sean Logue accomplished an incredible thing for me by handling my legal matters.” - Former Client
    • “Mr. Logue came to me for my consultation, which was nice! He helped me better understand my situation so I could weigh my options.” - Former Client