Penalties for First OVI in St. Clairsville, Ohio
Arrests for OVI in this area often involve individuals without prior criminal records. In such situations, hiring an experienced St. Clairsville OVI lawyers can prove to be extremely beneficial.
A first-time OVI charge in Ohio comes with significant costs. Offenders can expect fines ranging from $375 to $1,075, along with additional court expenses. Moreover, to reinstate their driver’s license, a fee of $475 must be paid.
Simultaneously, OVI offenders face financial burdens due to time spent in jail, court hearings, and meetings with attorneys. It is undoubtedly a distressing position to be in.
Alongside the fines, fees, and court costs, there are additional consequences of an OVI conviction.
For offenders with a blood alcohol content (assuming they underwent chemical testing) between .08 and .17, the judge may sentence them to either three days in jail or three days in a Driver Intervention Program. The associated costs of the program must be covered by the offender, but the benefits of the educational 72-hour seminar approved by the court outweigh the expenses. The program provides valuable knowledge regarding drugs and alcohol.
If the offender’s blood alcohol content exceeds .17 percent, the judge has two options: three days in a Driver Intervention Program plus three days in jail, or a straight sentence of six days in jail. This is also applicable to offenders who previously refused a breath test and were subsequently convicted of OVI within the past 20 years.
Upon arrest for a first-time OVI, automatic administrative suspension of the offender’s license by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles takes place. Additionally, the judge may impose a Class Five license suspension, lasting at least six months or potentially up to three years. After a certain period of time, offenders can request “occupational driving privileges” to commute to work or school exclusively.
If your blood alcohol content was over .17 percent, you may be required to pay for the installation of an ignition interlock device on your car. Another consequence could be having yellow license plates, commonly known as party plates. An ignition interlock device is a contraption installed in your vehicle that requires you to provide a breath sample before starting it. If alcohol is detected in your breath, the car won’t start. Additionally, the device performs periodic random tests to ensure that you cannot have someone else blow into it allowing you to drive while intoxicated.
First-time OVI ALS (Administrative License Suspension) Suspensions
If you refuse to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test as a first-time OVI offender, your license will be administratively suspended by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles for a full year. If you do submit to a test and your blood alcohol content is over .08 percent, the suspension will last 90 days. Furthermore, the judge will impose an additional license suspension of six months to three years.
Limitations on Driving Privileges for First OVI Offense
After being arrested for OVI, you have the right to request limited driving privileges. To do so, you must file a petition with the appropriate court depending on where you were arrested, which could be a county court, a municipal court, or a mayor’s court. For drivers under the age of 18, the petition must be filed in juvenile court.
Getting Driving Privileges Reinstated after a First OVI
To regain your license after a conviction for First-OVI, you must fulfill a set of requirements outlined in the Ohio Revised Code Section 4510.038. These include paying a reinstatement fee, serving the judge’s ordered suspension, and sending a copy of your proof of insurance to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at the following address:
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Attn. Reinstatement (RE) Fee
P. O. Box 16520
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6520
Summary of Penalties for a First-OVI in St. Clairsville, Ohio
|1st OVI w/ Low BAC||1st OVI w/ High BAC||1st OVI w/ Refusal|
|Jail||3 days to 6 months||6 days to 6 months||3 days to 6 months|
|Fines||$375 to $1,075||$375 to $1,075||$375 to $1,075|
|License Suspension||6 months to 3 years||6 months to 3 years||1 year ALS, 6 months to 3 years court suspension|
|Driving Privileges||Eligible after 15-day period beginning at date of offense (ALS)||Eligible after 15-day period beginning at date of offense (ALS)||Eligible after 30-day period beginning at date of offense (ALS)|
Please feel free to contact us at (330) 992-3036 or schedule a complimentary consultation online.
Get in TouchFill out the contact form or call us at (330) 992-3036
to schedule your free consultation.
- 1 Free Consultation
- 2 Available 24/7
- 3 Highly Rated Super Lawyer