Driving While the License Is Suspended in Youngstown
Getting behind the wheel and driving a car is convenient to all. And perhaps this is why many in Youngstown take it for granted. Multiple moving violations can cause losing your driving license. During the period of license suspension, driving on the roads of Ohio is considered a serious offense. Once you lose the license, you will realize how important it is for you to have the privilege of driving.
The Ohio Revised Code or ORC 4510.11 rules the definition of driving with a suspended license in Ohio. Anyone who operates a car or any motor vehicle on the road, highway or private property in Ohio with a suspended license will be punished as per the norms. If you or your loved one has been charged with driving with a suspended license, you need to get in touch with a Youngstown traffic lawyer.
At Youngstown Criminal Law Group, we have dealt with hundreds of cases of driving with a suspended license. Our Ohio traffic lawyer will ensure that you get the best outcome.
Penalties You Can Get for Driving With a Suspended License in Ohio
If convicted for driving with a suspended license, you will have to face serious consequences. If you are caught driving with a suspended license, it will be a first degree misdemeanor. This means that you will get a maximum of 6 months jail time and up to $1000 fines. The suspension of the driving license will be extended up to one year more. This is called class-seven suspension. When the suspension period ends, you will have to pay the BMV Reinstatement Fee.
If your driver’s license is suspended because you didn’t appear at the court or pay the fine, then the conviction will be an unclassified misdemeanor. For this, you will have to pay an additional fine of up to $1000 and serve the community for 500 hours.
In the case of second or more suspension of driving license in three years, you will get charged for first degree misdemeanor. You will get jail time for 6 months and pay a fine of up to $1000. The suspension will be extended for up to one more year. As this is class-seven suspension, you will have to pay the additional $1000fees and complete 500 hours of community service.
The court will consider the seriousness of your case and the situation, and they may give you vehicle immobilization for 30 days and impounded license plate for 30 days as well. In the case of a second conviction of driving with a suspended license, the period of vehicle immobilization will be 60 days and the license will be impounded for 60 days.
For the third offense of driving with a suspended license, law enforcement will take away your vehicle.
Explanation of Driver’s License Suspension
In Ohio, there can be various situations that can lead to driver’s license suspension. Every case is different based on the situation. It can be one of the following:
- Getting more than 12 points on your driver’s license
- Not getting through the driver’s test
- Convicted for DUI/OVI
- Not appearing at court
- Not paying the fines and fees
- Conviction of aggravated vehicular homicide, vehicular homicide or manslaughter
When your license gets suspended and you are charged with driving with a suspended license, you need to connect with an experienced Youngstown traffic lawyer. The situation can be daunting and confusing for you. An experienced lawyer will have the compassion and knowledge needed for a case like this and will help you get the charges reduced or dismissed completely.
Connect With Ohio Traffic Lawyer
Come to Youngstown Criminal Law Group right away. We have dealt with multiple cases of driving with a suspended license many times and our Ohio traffic lawyer will help you with the case.
Get in TouchFill out the contact form or call us at (330) 992-3036
to schedule your free consultation.
- 1 Free Consultation
- 2 Available 24/7
- 3 Highly Rated Super Lawyer